• Thu. Mar 23rd, 2023

6 Countries That Have Been Banned From FIFA World Cup

May 21, 2022

Russia became the latest country to be banned from the FIFA World Cup due to its invasion of Ukraine. Russia declared a special military operation and started a war with Ukraine, which received backlash from various world bodies.

FIFA declared a ban on the Russian football team from participating in the upcoming Qatar World Cup 2022. However, this is not the first time a country has been banned from participating in the FIFA World Cup.

Here we will take a look at the 6 countries which have been banned from FIFA World Cup in history.

  • Germany and Japan (1950 World Cup)

The 1950 FIFA World Cup was the fourth edition of the FIFA World Cup. The tournament was held in Brazil from 24 June to 16 July 1950. The planned 1942 and 1946 World Cups were canceled due to World War II and as a result of World War II, Germany and Japan were banned from participating in that edition of the World Cup.

  • South Africa (1970 -1990 World Cup)

South Africa under apartheid was subjected to a variety of international boycotts, including on sporting areas. South Africa was suspended from FIFA in 1963. Stanley Rous, FIFA’s President, went to negotiate its reinstatement. The South African FA proposed entering an all-white team in the 1966 World Cup and an all-black team in the 1970 World Cup. This proposal was rejected. The South African FA was expelled from FIFA in 1976.

  • Mexico (1990 World Cup)

FIFA hit Mexico with a two-year ban because it used four players who were above the age limit in qualifying for next year’s world junior tournament. FIFA also announced that it is investigating Mexican soccer officials, who could face lifetime suspensions if found responsible for the affair.

  • Chile (1994 World Cup)

The Maracanazo of the Chilean team was an incident that happened during the football match between Brazil and Chile at the Maracana Stadium in Rio de Janeiro on 3rd September 1989. Chilean goalkeeper Roberto Rojas pretended to be injured by a flare thrown by Brazilian fans but in reality, he used a blade hidden in his glove to cut himself.

The incident resulted in Chile being banned from qualifying for the 1994 World Cup, and ended Rojas’ career, as he was banned for life.

  • Myanmar (2006 World Cup)

Myanmar’s football association was fined 23,500 dollars by FIFA for failing to play a 2002 World Cup qualifying match in Iran. The match should have been played in November in Tehran but Myanmar pulled out at the last minute and withdrew from 2002World Cup. As a result, Myanmar had also been banned from competing in the 2006 World Cup.

  • Russia (2022 World Cup)

Russia’s invasion of Ukraine has been in the headlines for the last few months. This act of war has been condemned by many and their football team has been banned from participating in the Qatar FIFA World Cup 2022.